Hey fellow Geeks!

Again, I’d like to apologize for the lack of posts, I still haven’t created a strict schedule yet (if ever) and courses have been crazy for my final term.85138_143617_1460580445-netflix-penny-quiz-041316_250_250

 

I’m almost finished though…


Anyway!

Even with my school and work schedule dominating my life right now, I couldn’t ignore the amazingness that is The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild.

botw-box-art
Left: U.S. Box art – Right: E.U. Box art (Which one do you like?)

 

Thursday evening (1/12/16) at 11pm E.S.T. Nintendo hosting the Switch Presentation in Toyko and it lasted until 12am E.S.T. with this spectacular trailer for the new Legend of Zelda game. Unfortunately I don’t think I can attach videos on my blog, but there are plenty of locations to watch it, the main place being Nintendo’s YouTube page!

I highly recommend watching this trailer, even if you’ve seen it before, watch it again. It’s completely worth it! I’ve been watching it over and over again to see the nuances that are intertwined with this trailer, and the story is blooming in front of my eyes.

As I was watching the trailer over again I took screenshots of some of my favorite moments in the trailer: if you haven’t seen the trailer yet… spoilers? Also, all these screenshots did come from Nintendo’s trailer.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

These still images don’t do the trailer justice, but they are a glimpse into the beautiful game that this seems to be. The colors and tone of this game are more dynamic than any other Zelda game I can remember. One reason I loved playing Skyward Sword was because of the bright colors and Link’s emotions, but some of these concepts didn’t pan through.

This game though is changing everything we know about Zelda and I’m super excited about that!

As mentioned in various interviews, Breath of the Wild‘s gameplay and overall mechanics are departing from the series’ conventions. We are now going to be in an open-world version of Hyrule that we’ve never experienced before, where we’ll have free range of what we see in front of us, which at some points is the entire map! This is the game that Shigeru Miyamoto was giving us since the beginning with The Legend of Zelda (1986).

Before I get into more specifics, I also want to mention that the trailer’s music is phenomenal as well. I love listening to video game soundtracks and I’m happy to say this will be added to my collection. If it’s not too late and you’re interested there are Special Editions of Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild on Pre-Order right now (1/14/17). There was also a Master Edition, but when I tried Pre-Ordering that right after the event on the 12th/13th it was already SOLD OUT!!crying-zelda

The only difference is that the Master Edition comes with the Master Sword of Resurrection Statue, so I feel perfectly happy with the Special Edition.

So, after going through the trailer, there are a few moments I want to touch upon. First of all, this particular scene with Zelda in a spring, wearing a white dress, seems very similar to Skyward Sword.

While it’s not the best angle to work with, I can see a lot of similarities between the locations in both images. The location on the left is crumbling apart, but the shape of the goddess and the pedestal for the Goddess’ crest is still visible. From all the previous trailers and images for Breath of the Wild, we know that Hylia is once again an importance figure for these characters, just like it was in Skyward Sword.

Going a bit into Time Line theory a bit… Could it be possible for this game to be after Skyward Sword and during the Era of Chaos. In the Time Line, there is a gap in between the end of Skyward Sword or the Sky Era, and the Force Era with The Minish Cap. Plus, after the stated Era of Chaos, there is and Era of Prosperity, which is the Establishment of Hyrule Kingdom. Although, from what the trailer shows, Hyrule Kingdom had already been established, so I’m not too sure where this might fit in, but these Springs look too similar to me!

There are a lot of theories out there that I thought were really interesting, but I thought I’d throw the idea out there, but let me know what you guys think!


The second thing I want to talk about is the voice acting in this game….

VOICE ACTING… in a Zelda game!

ddfc83cd36932a2b80cabd41b513642f
I hear voices!

Again, from previous trailers from Breath of the Wild, we heard a younger woman’s voice (Zelda) telling us to “Open your eyes”. It was shocking, but maybe we could handle just one main character talking. And, it does appear that these voice acting moments will only be in major cut-scenes, which I’m a HUGE fan of!

The newest voice we heard was probably Impa, just by the tone of voice and the knowledge she has on the history of the Royal family.

The history of the Royal family of Hyrule is also the history of The Calamity Ganon. A primal evil that has endured over the ages. – Impa(?)

We also hear voices from possibly, the Great Deku Tree, the King of Hyrule, a Goron, and even a little bit from the bird man. I’m SO excited for the voice acting, and it’d be interesting to see how people would actually act around the mute hero!

I could go on and on about this game, but I wouldn’t even know where to break it down. If you guys have suggestions on specific moments you’d want me to discuss, please let me know! It’d be so much fun to break this fantastic trailer down to pieces.

This game is on the horizon and I’m ready for it! March 3rd, 2017 is the release of not only this game but the Nintendo Switch as well. Which I’ve decided at this point to be the better system to get for this game, even though I bought the Wii U for this game however many years ago!

I’ll also be finishing up my courses Feb. 28th, so this game might take over my new freedom… Everything’s looking bright in my future!

zelda-sun

Until the next review – Later!

 

