77493_originalA Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

Hey fellow Geeks!
I’d give this book 4-4.5/5 stars. It was extremely enjoyable!

When I was recommended this book, it was described as a sort of Beauty and the Beast retelling with more fantasy, and magic. I thought, “Oh, that sounds awesome,” and they were completely correct in their description. I’m a HUGE fan of a fairy tale retelling, but this is its own unique story with elements of Beauty and the Beast. There is fantasy, magic, and an entire new world to get to know. These characters are really dynamic, even if they don’t appear to be at first and that is something I absolutely love about this book.

Although it seemingly took me about a month to finish this novel, if I had not been taking college courses right now, I know this novel would have gone back super quick. There was a lot of heart in this story and the main character Feyre (Fay-ruh) was a really interesting character. Comparing her to Belle is almost impossible and I’m glad the difference is there. Feyre is strong, passionate, and loving but she needed an environment for these emotions to really start showing.

roseThe way she enters the Spring Court in Prythian (Prith-ee-en) is more complex than we are originally led to believe which was a nice way to introduce the story. We are led to believe that after killing this wolf, who happens to be a faerie named Andras, Tamlin the High Fae of the Spring Court comes and forces her to cross the Wall into Prythian. (Made me think of both Game of Thrones and Beauty and the Beast). Feyre’s presence there is unnatural, but she soon comes to understand that something deeper is happening, and her presence there is also bringing out emotions for both her and Tamlin.

While I’m trying not to give too much away, the whole Masquerade masks idea for the Spring Court was an interesting plot detail. The curse for the Spring Court emulates the curse of the Beast, but in a way that still makes his features a mystery. The love between Tamlin and Feyre had to feel real and I definitely felt the chemistry. Sometimes though the heat between these two would become very feral, which I guess fits with Tamlin’s shape-shifting abilities. It was just awkward at first…Chapter 27 though!

tumblr_oh2zxhbi9w1vg3zrco1_500
Chapter 27…

One character that I came to actually like the most was the High Fae of the Night Court, Rhysand (Ree-sand). There is something about his character that is very dynamic and mysterious. I don’t feel threatened by him and neither does Feyre at the end. He is an essential character in her passing the trials Under the Mountain. —


Going off topic a second, those trials were written really well. Feyre’s first trial in that disgusting pit of a maze and giant worm was fantastic to read. It was action packed and the smell and feeling of the goop surrounding her was in my head as I was reading it. It was disgusting, yet amazing to read. I have to say though, the riddle Amarantha gave to Feyre as an easy way to “win” seemed easy to me. But, I think this was the entire point, as Feyre struggles with it all the time, her main concern is surviving the trials, not trying to deduce a riddle she can hardly understand. Her personality was more into the action and getting physical results, plus her education was limited to non-existent. And her character is experiencing these emotions for the first time, so having (view spoiler) be the answer is something that fits perfectly. The audience could figure it out while we have to watch Feyre suffer because she’s never felt this way for anyone, except her family. Anyway, back to Rhysand —


He’s under the thumb of the obnoxious and annoying Amarantha (Am-a-ran-tha) by being her plaything essentially. This doesn’t diminish his character to me though, it makes him more human, in a way. There is a sadness to Rhysand that makes me really want to understand him. He desires the love that Tamlin receives from Feyre, and I’m thinking he’ll get it. I know his presence will be important in the future books, with his tattoo deal with Feyre guarantee’s his existence in the future stories as well as the cliffhanger scene we had with him on the Mountain.

“He bowed at the waist, those wings vanishing entirely, and had begun to fade into the nearest shadow when he went rigid. His eyes locked on mine, wide and wild, and his nostrils flared. Shock–pure shock flashed across his features at whatever he saw on my face, and he stumbled back a step. Actually stumbled.”

human-heart

After this scene though, Feyre doesn’t seem to acknowledge his strange disappearance. Rhysand’s character became so intriguing to me, and he really seems to care about Feyre, even when he doesn’t seem to show it in public. The attraction is there to me and I think it’ll develop somehow.

I can’t wait to get into the series, and hopefully I get through those faster. I might have to wait until I’ve competed my college courses, but I’ll be done at the end of next February, so I’m close! Sarah J. Maas is an author who has been on my reading list for a long time, and if this was any indication of her other works, I’m super excited to get reading.

Until the next review – Later!

